The Nominating Committee of the Baptist General Convention of Oklahoma (BGCO) invites Oklahoma Baptists to recommend persons to serve on the various boards and committees. The committee’s nominations will be presented to messengers at the annual meeting of the BGCO to be held November 13-14, at Oklahoma City, Quail Springs.

It is important that consistent information be available for all recommendations. The recommendation form printed with this article may be copied. Accurate completion of the form is requested for each name submitted. Those sending names for consideration may contact any member of the committee; however, recommendation forms must be received by the Nominating Committee no later than August 1. The electronic form can be completed online at, or the printed form may be mailed to the Nominating Committee, Baptist Building, 3800 North May Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK 73112-6506, or faxed to 405-942-1339.

Committee members are Rusty McMullen, chairman; Lynn Bellamy, Andy Bowman, Rusty Canoy, Curtis Erwin, Harold Gaches, Chris Hagar, Kellie Muller, Scott Newton, Tony Rhone, Heath Tucker, Scott Uhlenhake, Chris Wall, Terri Wilson, and Charles Wyatt.

Potential directors and trustees should have a personal history of effort and experience in Christian causes and an interest in promoting the objectives of the organizations to which they are recommended. Knowledge and ability in business are beneficial characteristics for nominees for each board. All board positions are for 3-year terms except as otherwise noted. Following are the vacancies to be filled:

Board of Directors of the Baptist General Convention of Oklahoma will have 21 positions on the 60-member board to be filled from 16 associations; 17 three-year terms, 1 one-year term, and 3 three-year At-large positions will be filled. Five new directors must be women. One position is open in each of the following associational areas:  Beckham-Mills, Capital, Central, Chi-Ka-Sha, Choctaw-Chickasaw, Cimarron, Comanche-Cotton, Concord-Kiowa, Craig-Mayes, Mullins, Muscogee-Seminole-Wichita, Northwestern, Pittsburg, Sans Boise, and South Canadian. There are two openings in Tulsa Metro, both three-year terms. To comply with convention bylaws, the number of directors elected from specific associational areas will vary as the resident membership fluctuates, and the number of At-large members will change accordingly from year to year. The constitution specifies that there are to be no fewer than 16 persons who are not ordained ministers of the Gospel serving on the board, including at least eight women and at least eight men.

Board of Trustees for Oklahoma Baptist University will have ten vacancies on the 30‑member board; all 3-year terms. Five of the ten new trustees must be laypersons and five must be selected from among the professional clergy (pastors, church staff, directors of missions, etc.) or their spouses. The committee seeks to maintain a balance of members from all areas of the state; however, there are no requirements regarding geographical locations.

Board of Directors for The Baptist Foundation of Oklahoma will have six vacancies on the 18-member board; all 3-year terms. To fulfill bylaw specifications, five of the new directors must be laypersons, one must be ordained or in a church related vocation, and one must be a woman. There are no geographical requirements, but a geographical balance is desirable.

Board of Directors for Baptist Village Communities of Oklahoma will have seven positions open for recommendation on the 21-member board; all 3-year terms. One new director must be from the area in which the Baptist Village of Lake Texhoma is located. BVC bylaws stipulate that the board shall be geographically representative of the state.

Board of Trustees for Oklahoma Baptist Homes for Children will have openings for eight members on the 24-member board; all 3-year terms. To conform to OBHC bylaws, seven must be laypersons and one must be an ordained minister or minister’s spouse. There are no geographical requirements, but a geographical balance is desirable.

Convention Committees: Nominees from all areas of the state are eligible to serve on convention committees. The Audit Committee will have three vacancies; all 3-year terms. One must be a past BGCO officer. To comply with the committee’s charter, members must meet the following criteria: 1) member of the clergy who is a recent past officer of the Baptist General Convention; or 2) certified by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, who are experienced in finance, accounting, and/or knowledgeable of tax and regulatory requirements; or 3) must have senior corporate management experience including finance or accounting, or other comparable experience or background. The following positions will also be open: three 3-year terms on the Ethics & Religious Liberty Committee; and three 3-year terms and 1 two-year term on the Historical Commission.

The period for submitting recommendations to the Nominating Committee is June 12 – August 2, 2017.

Subscribe ToThe BGCO eNews

Join our weekly mailing list to receive the latest Baptist news and updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!